GETTING ON AND OFF THE SEX OFFENDER REGISTRY
Today, all adult sex offenders in Utah are required to register with the Utah State Department of Corrections as soon as they are released from prison or are on probation. Since July 2006, juveniles who were or are in the custody of Juvenile Justice Services 30 days prior to their 21st birthday must register as well. According to the National Incident-Based Reporting System, 40 percent of the offenders who victimized children under the age of 6 were juveniles. Once sex offenders are convicted, their photo date of birth, physical description, address and offense description are put on the registry for the duration of the sentence and for an additional 10 years following the expiration of the sentence. Repeat offenders are required to register for life.
WHAT DOES SEX OFFENSE MEAN?
(1) a felony of Class A misdemeanor violation of enticing a minor over the Internet;
(2) kidnapping a minor;
(3) a felony violation of unlawful sexual activity with a minor;
(4) sexual abuse of a minor;
(5) unlawful sexual conduct with a 16 or 17 year old;
(7) rape of a minor;
(8) object rape;
(9) object rape of a minor;
(10) a felony violation of forcible sodomy;
(11) sodomy on a minor;
(12) forcible sexual abuse;
(13) sexual abuse of a minor;
(14) aggravated sexual abuse of a minor;
(15) aggravated sexual assault;
(16) sexual exploitation of a minor;
(18) lewdness involving a minor;
(19) aggravated exploitation of prostitution; or
(20) attempting, soliciting, or conspiring to commit a felony violation of an offense listed (1) through (19) above.