PITT COUNTY ARRESTS TWO FOR FAILING TO REGISTER AS SEX OFFENDERS
Thursday, August 1st 2019
GREENVILLE, Pitt County — After the arrests last month of two previous sex offenders for failing to let the Pitt County Sheriff's Office know when they were released from jail on unrelated charges, the department is putting all registered sex offenders on notice -- saying they will be 'aggressive' in making sure those requirements are followed.
North Carolina law requires offenders to let their local sheriff's department know where they are living, in person, within three days of their release from jail.
Investigators say James Acklin of Greenville, 62, was jailed on charges of felony breaking and entering, larceny, and possession of burglary tools and bonded out, but failed to show up at the sheriff's department to confirm his address. Jimmy Williams of Grimesland, 44, was released on bond after he was charged with violating a domestic violence protective order and PCSO says he also failed to report his address. They add that both men were arrested on Tuesday and charged with one count each of felony failure to register as a sex offender and they are being held at the Pitt County Detention Center under a $25,000 secured bond.
The North Carolina Sex Offender and Public Protection Registry was established in January 1996 and requires a person who has a reportable conviction to maintain registration with the Sheriff of the county in which they live.
The sheriff's office says there are several common questions asked concerning sex offenders in the county:
• Can a sex offender be around children?
Yes. The law prohibits sex offenders from having custody of or providing care for a child that isn't theirs and also prevents them from going to certain locations where children are frequently present, like parks, and school property.
• Can a sex offender live near children?
Yes. The law states a sex offender cannot live within 1,000 feet of a school or daycare.
• Can I be notified if a sex offender moves into my neighborhood?
Yes. You can sign up at http://signup.ncsbi.gov/ and receive a notification when a sex offender moves within 1, 3 or 5 miles of your residence.
• How do I report a possible registration violation?
You may contact the county's Sex Offender Compliance Officer at 252-902-2653, Crime Stoppers at 252-758-7777, or the communications center 24 hours a day at (252) 830-4141.
Message from Executive Director Laura A. Ahearn: Please visit our website at www.crimevictimscenter.org for news, information and resources in your community.
Comments are closed.