THE REGISTRY (About the law)

Newsday/Emily Ngo and Denise M. Bonilla
The New York State Sex Offender Registration Act, enacted in 1996, requires that anyone onparole, probation or incarcerated for a sex offense register with the Division of Criminal JusticeServices.
The sentencing court generally determines whether an offender's risk of committing anothersex crime is Level 1, low; Level 2, moderate; or Level 3, high.  Offenders may also bedesignated as sexual predator, sexually violent offender or predicate sex offender.  Offenderscan file a petition to the court to modify their assigned risk level.
- Level 1 offenders remain on the registry for 20 years unless they receive one of theabove designations, in which case they are on the registry for life. 
- Level 2 and Level 3 offenders' information, including headshot, address, offensedescription and vehicle detailer, is made public on a state-run Internet subdirectory. However, anyone can call the state to ask if an individual is on the registry.
Offenders are mandated to:
- Report their addresses by signing and returning annual verification forms from theDivision of Criminal Justice Services.  Level 3 offenders and offenders with sexual predatordesignation must verify their address every 90 days.
- Level 2 and Level 3, provide the address of their employer.
- Report any institution of higher education they are attending or employed at.
- Have a new photograph taken at a local police station annually if they are Level 3and do so every three years if they are Level 1 and 2.
- Provide their Internet service providers, Internet screen names and email accounts.
Offenders who fail to fulfill these and other obligations can face felony charges.
(New York)