updated updated 2/6/2023
|Lorena Bukovich-Notti, Department of Public Safety (907), Division of Statewide Services (907) 269-5550.
|Offenders Required to Register:
|Adult sex offenders or child kidnappers and juveniles tried and convicted as adults on or after 8/10/94.
|Photograph, fingerprints, name (including all aliases), address, internet identifier, instant message identifier, and social networking addresses, place of employment, DOB; driver’s license number; description, license numbers, and vehicle identification numbers of motor vehicles the sex offender or child kidnapper has access to regardless of whether that access is regular or not; any identifying features of the sex offender or child kidnapper; and a statement concerning whether the offender or kidnapper has had treatment for a mental abnormality or personality disorder since the date of conviction for an offense requiring registration under this chapter.
|State Department of Public Safety.
|Timeframe for Registration:
|The sex offender or child kidnapper shall register: within the 30-day period before release from an in-state correctional facility; by the next working day following conviction for a sex offense or child kidnapping if the sex offender is not incarcerated at the time of conviction; or by the next working day of becoming physically present in the state.
|Applies to Out of State Offenders:
|Yes – Applies to offenders with out of state convictions residing in Alaska.
|Duration of Requirement:
|For offenses after January 1, 1999: Quarterly registration for life if convicted of one aggravated sex offense; or two or more sex offenses, two or more child kidnappings, or one sex offense and one child kidnapping. Or, annual registration for 15 years following the sex offender’s or child kidnapper’s unconditional discharge from a conviction for a single sex offense that is not an aggravated sex offense or for a single child kidnapping if the sex offender or child kidnapper has supplied proof that is acceptable to the department of the unconditional discharge and no other offenses have been committed.For offenses before January 1, 1999: Annual registration for 15 years following the sex offender’s unconditional discharge from a conviction for a single sex offense if the sex offender has supplied proof that is acceptable to the department of the unconditional discharge and no other offenses have been committed. Annual registration for life if convicted of two or more convictions.
|Verification of Address:
|Penalties for Non-Compliance:
|Class A misdemeanor or Class C felony if prior conviction for failing to register.
|Access to Information:
|The public has access to information on registrants through Alaska’s Internet site. All offenders required to register, whether they are registered, have never registered, registered but are out-of-compliance, or in jail, will be on the Internet
|As of 1/31/23, Alaska has 2,178 registered; 281 non compliant; 3,335 on the website
|Alaska Sex Offender Registry