|Paula Stitz (501) 682-7441 http://www.acic.org/Registration/index.htm
|Offenders Required to Register:
|Anyone who has been found guilty of a sexually violent offense, a sex offense, or certain offenses where the victim was a minor. This includes those on probation or parole or anyone else serving any other form of community supervision. Juveniles are required to register in Arkansas when ordered by the court or if the juvenile was adjudicated out of state and required to register in the other state. Any person who was acquitted on the grounds of mental disease or defect. Out-of-state offenders who were required to register in their own state or any other state or any country in the free world. Offenders who are registered in another state and work or attend school in Arkansas.
|The offender’s full name and all aliases that the offender has used or under which the offender has been known; Date of birth; Identifying marks; Address of any temporary residence; Anticipated address of legal residence; Driver’s license number or state identification number, if available; SSN; Place of employment, education, or training; Photograph; Fingerprints; Date of arrest, arresting agency, offense for which convicted or acquitted, and arrest tracking number for each adjudication of guilt or acquittal on the grounds of mental disease or defect; Social networks, email addresses, and screen names; A brief description of the crime or crimes for which registration is required; The registration status of the offender as a sexually violent predator, aggravated sex offender, or sex offender; A statement in writing signed by the offender acknowledging that the offender has been advised of the duty to register imposed by this subchapter; and any other information that the center deems necessary.
|Arkansas Crime Information Center.
|Timeframe for Registration:
|Offenders are required to report to the local law enforcement agency having jurisdiction: 1) any change in residence address no later than five (5) days before moving to or returning to the state from another jurisdiction, 2) establishing residency at a new address or 3) within ten (5) days after release from incarceration or after the date of sentencing.
|Applies to Out of State Offenders:
|Duration of Requirement:
|15 years (lifetime for a sexually violent predator, if convicted of an aggravated sex offense or multiple offenses also if convicted 3 or more times for failure to comply ) from the date of initial registration form signed. Incarceration time does not count against the 15 year requirement.
|Verification of Address:
|Must return a Verification of Residence address form every six months (every three months for a designated sexually dangerous person (SDP) level 4 community notification). Recently added those offenders who declare a HOMELESS status must verify that status every 30 days to local law enforcment.
|Penalties for Non-Compliance:
|A person who fails to register, who fails to report changes of address or fails to comply with assessment as required, shall be guilty of a Class C felony. Class C felonies are punishable by up to 20 years imprisonment and up to a $10,000 fine.
|Access to Information:
|As of Jan. 1, 2004 (Act 330) allowed ACIC to create a section on their web site to display information, including pictures, of registered sex offenders that have been assessed at level three and level four. Pursuant to §12-12-911(Viii), Some level 2 offenders will be added on the website these are the offenders that were 18 years of age or older at the time of the commission of the sex offense and the victim was 14 years of age or younger. Registered sex offenders who have not yet been assessed with a final community notification levels are not included on this website. Your local law enforcement agency is still the best source of immediate information.
|17,235 as of 11/20/2020 the number of offenders now reflects over 1,000 deceased offenders who were counted as on the register but now have been removed by legislative action.
|Approximately 79% to 80% compliance
|Arkansas Sex Offender RegistryInformation on registered sex offenders determined to necessitate the highest level of community notification to the public (Level 3 and Level 4 and certain level 2s), must be available on the Arkansas state website.