|Kristie Mahler (303) 239-4222
|Offenders Required to Register:
|Fingerprints, (fingerprint cards are produced in the state of Colorado), photo, other identifying information including place of employment, registered vehicles, and employment or attendance at institutions of post-secondary education. Any person who is required to register and who has been convicted of a child sex crime is required to register all e-mail addresses, instant-messaging identities, or chat room identities prior to use.
|Colorado Bureau of Investigation, local law enforcement
|Timeframe for Registration:
|Within 5 business days of becoming a temporary or permanent resident; 5 business days of changing address.
|Applies to Out of State Offenders:
|Duration of Requirement:
|Sexually violent predators must re-register quarterly for lifeIf you were convicted as an adult in Colorado of any of the following listed offenses, or if you were convicted in another state or jurisdiction of an offense that requires quarterly registration in that state or jurisdiction, or would require quarterly registration in Colorado you must register for life.Felony Sexual Assault, in violation of section 18-3-402, or Sexual Assault in the First Degree, in violation of section 18-3-402 as it existed prior to July 1, 2000, or Sexual Assault in the Second Degree, in violation of section 18-3-403 as it existed prior to July 1, 2000, or Sexual Assault on a Child in violation of section 18-3-405, or Sexual Assault on a Child by one in a Position of Trust, in violation of section 18-3-405.3, or Sexual Assault on a client by a Psychotherapist, in violation of section 18-3-405.5, or Incest, in violation of section 18-6-301, or Aggravated Incest, in violation of section 18-6-302.Class 1, 2, or 3 felony 20 years from the date of final release from court jurisdiction.Class 4, 5, or 6 felony or class 1 misdemeanor 10 years from the date of final release from court jurisdiction. Misdemeanors other than a class 1 misdemeanor 5 years from the date of final release from court jurisdiction.
|Verification of Address:
|Yes, by local law enforcement.
|Penalties for Non-Compliance:
|If the offender is convicted of a felony sex offense, felony failure to register charges are filed, if sex offense for which offender is required to register was a misdemeanor, misdemeanor charges are filed for failure to register.
|Access to Information:
The public has access to information on registered sexual offenders in their local jurisdiction through their local law enforcement agency or the Colorado Bureau of Investigation. Lists of offenders in other jurisdictions are (may be - remove) available through the Colorado Bureau of Investigation. Public website contains four categories of offenders which are posted per Colorado statute (excludes those convicted of misdemeanors and those convicted as juveniles). (Or by the public Colorado Sex Offender web site - I would completely remove this sentence) . In Colorado, the SOR information is considered a public record.
Colorado law recently changed as of September 1, 2021, limiting access to information on registered sex offenders only adjudicated of a juvenile sex offense. The public can no longer request the rap sheet of a juvenile offender to find out if the individual is a "Registered sex offender". CBI and local law enforcement are no longer able to release information on individuals adjudicated as a juvenile for a sex offense on a list of registered sex offenders released to the public. Local law enforcement are no longer allowed to post certain categories of juveniles on their website. CBI has never been able to post juvenile sex offender information on our website. The public is able to request information on a specified named juvenile, to find out if they are a registered sex offender. There is a form they must fill out, and they must declare their need for the information.
|No (except nonfeasance, etc.)
19,121 as of 1/30/2023
We have removed a lot of juveniles from the registry over the last year due to new CO legislation
Colorado Sex Offender Registry
Violent sexual predators, multiple offenders, and Individuals who have failed to register and adult felony convictions requiring registration.)We do not post misdemeanor or juvenile convictions.