|Sondra LeJeune: firstname.lastname@example.org
|Offenders Required to Register:
|Any adult residing in this state who has pled guilty to, has been convicted of, or where adjudication has been deferred or withheld for the perpetration or attempted perpetration, or any conspiracy to commit a sex offense as defined in R.S. 15:541. Any juvenile, who has attained the age of fourteen years at the time of commission of the offense, who has been adjudicated delinquent based upon the perpetration, attempted perpetration, or conspiracy to commit any sex offense shall register with the sheriff of the parish of the person’s residence, or residences, if there is more than one, and with the chief of police if the address of any of the person’s residences is located in an incorporated area which has a police department. If the offender resides in a parish with a population in excess of four hundred fifty thousand, he shall register with the police department of his municipality of residence. The offender shall also register with the sheriff of the parish or parishes where the offender is an employee and with the sheriff of the parish or parishes where the offender attends school. If the offender is employed or attends school in a parish with a population in excess of four hundred fifty thousand, then he shall register with the police department of the municipality where he is employed or attends school. The offender shall also register in the parish of conviction for the initial registration only. Any person required to register must update their registration annually on the anniversary of the initial registration.
|Name of the offender, date of birth, residential address, employment, student status, crime for which the offender was convicted, date and place of conviction, any aliases used, every vehicle used, license plate numbers, social security number, fingerprints, palm prints, DNA sample,current photograph, telephone numbers, email addresses and online identifiers, description of physical characteristics, travel and immigration documents, and other such information as may be required by the Department of Public Safety and Corrections to carry out the purposes of the law.
|Louisiana Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Louisiana State Police, Bureau of Criminal Identification and Information, State Sex Offender and Child Predator Registry, the sheriff’s office in the parish of residence, and the police department of the local municipality.
|Timeframe for Registration:
|Within 3 days of release from incarceration, 3 days of establishing residence in Louisiana, 3 days of changing address.
|Applies to Out of State Offenders:
|Duration of Requirement:
|15 years,25 years, or lifetime for sexually violent predators or child sexual predators, or any person with a prior conviction for an offense for which registration is required, and any person convicted of an aggravated offense.
|Verification of Address:
|Once a year during the required period of registration, provided the offender has not been determined to be a sexually violent predator. Sexually violent predators shall receive address verification every ninety days.
|Penalties for Non-Compliance:
|Person who fails to register, periodically renew and update registration, provide proof of residence or notification of change of address or other registration information, or provide community notification as required by the provisions, and a person who knowingly provides false information to a law enforcement agency shall, upon first conviction, be fined not more than one thousand dollars and imprisoned with hard labor for not less than two years nor more than ten years without benefit of parole, probation, or suspension of sentence. Upon second or subsequent convictions, the offender shall be fined three thousand dollars and imprisoned with hard labor for not less than five years nor more than twenty years without benefit of parole, probation, or suspension of sentence.
|Access to Information:
|Criminal justice agencies shall release relevant and necessary information regarding sex offenders, child predators, and sexually violent predators to the public when release of the information is necessary for public protection. The identity of a victim, or information leading to the identity of a victim shall not be released. Louisiana State Police has a Sex Offender Website with photos and conviction information available to the public.
|Louisiana is a closed information state
|There are currently 10,297 Active Offenders and 2,005 Inactive-Incarcerated. Of the 10,297 there are 544 Non-Compliant Offenders, of which are 449 Active Warrants as of 1/5/2022.
|Louisiana Sex Offender Registry