|Vermont Sex Offender Registry
Vermont Crime Information Center (VCIC)
45 State Dr.
Waterbury, Vermont 05671-1300
Sex Offender Registry
|Offenders Required to Register:
|The Sex Offender Registry Law applies to persons convicted of the following crimes if the person was:
A non-resident sex offender who moves to Vermont for full or part time employment or to attend school or college on a full or part-time basis must also register.
The crimes for which offenders must register include:
In addition, the Sex Offender Registry Law applies to persons convicted of any of the following offenses against a victim who is a minor:
Conduct which is criminal only because of the age of the victim shall not be considered an offense for purposes of the registry if the perpetrator is under the age of 18
|Name; date of birth; general physical description; current address; Social Security number; fingerprints; current photograph; current employment; conviction record, including offense, date of conviction, sentence and any conditions of release or probation.
|State Department of Public Safety, Department of Corrections.
|Timeframe for Registration:
|Effective September 1, 2001, Vermont adopted Lifetime Registration for Recidivist, Sexual Assault, and Aggravated Sexual Assault for any registerable offense. An offender must also register if they are attending school, employed or carrying on a vocation in Vermont within 10 days after establishing residence in this state, if convicted in another state, annually within 10 days of the person’s date of birth. If a person is determined to be a sexually violent predator, that person shall report to the department every 90 days; and within 36 hours after any change of address.
|Applies to Out of State Offenders:
|Duration of Requirement:
|Offenders must comply with the above requirements for 10 years from the date they are discharged from the supervision of the Vermont Department of Corrections or for life. If they have been designated a Sexually Violent Predator by the court, they must comply with the above requirements until the court orders termination of the designation or life.
|Verification of Address:
|At least once a year they will receive a form letter from VCIC verifying their current address. They must complete the form and return it to VCIC within 10 days of birthday.
|Penalties for Non-Compliance:
|Failure to comply with any of the requirements indicated above is grounds for a warrant to be issued for the registrant’s arrest. If a registrant is convicted of failing to comply with the law they could be imprisoned for not more than two years and/or fined not more than $1,000. A second or subsequent offense could result in a sentence to imprisonment of no more than three years and/or a fine of not more than $5,000.
|Access to Information:
|Not all information in the registry is available to the public. The public may contact local law enforcement, the registry or search online. Specific information is available to law enforcement only.
|Any person who uses information in this registry to injure, harass, or commit a criminal offense against any person included in the registry or any other person is subject to criminal prosecution.
|1,448 as of 1/31/2023
|Vermont Sex Offender Registry
Additional information on the VTSOR can be found here and may be helpful: